Warm Spring, Warmer World?

I am sitting at my computer writing on this glorious morning for a reason.  For the last week here in northwestern Pennsylvania, it has been 70 degrees and sunny.  Everyone has been reveling in the unseasonably warm weather, but it makes me nervous.  This is way too warm for March and it looks to me like a taste of what is to come:  a warming planet and the changes that will bring to our lives.

I decided to start this blog to share with you the experience I’ve gained from twenty-plus years of trying to live lightly on the Earth.  I’ve done some things right, I’ve done many things wrong, and I have fallen flat on my face on numerous occasions–you’ve never lived until you’ve taken a header in a pig pen, but we’ll get to that later.

Some of the topics I will cover are gardening, cooking, food storage, living off the grid, water issues, composting toilets, heating and cooking with wood, raising small livestock, greenhouses, old-time crafts, personal hygiene in a post-supermarket world, and whatever else comes along.  If I’m not doing it, I know someone who is.

I don’t think we should panic about the coming changes; I think we should prepare for them. The future doesn’t have to be a scary place.  If we start now, we can be ready.

5 Comments

  1. Rowanrose said,

    March 23, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    I’m looking forward to learning more! Thanks for starting this blog.

  2. Gerri said,

    March 23, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    Oh..it will be awesome!!

  3. fran fry said,

    March 23, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    keep blogging. love it

  4. Julie said,

    March 23, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    I will be here regularly I want to learn how to leave much less of a carbon footprint on Mother Earth.

  5. SandraLee said,

    March 24, 2012 at 1:59 am

    so glad this will be here to assist me!
    and from a favorite earth mother as well.


Leave a Reply

