Plarn Rugs

I’ve been having a lot of fun with plarn lately.  Plarn is plastic yarn made from grocery bags.  I don’t get many plastic bags these days, because I have a growing collection of reusable bags that I take when I go shopping–unless I forget them or I’m too slow on the draw and the cashier has already bagged my items–but I’ve been saving them for years.  Friends and family are happy to donate, too, so I have a couple of garbage bags full at the moment.  I’m making rugs on my floor loom, but you can knit and crochet with plarn, too.  I’m sure you could do macrame as well, but I’ve never been any good at that.

Plarn rugs

I experimented with a couple of methods for cutting the bags, but this is the best one I’ve found and this video demonstrates the technique very well.   I weave with the strips just as they are, but you can spin them on a drop spindle and use plarn just like you would any other yarn.  Despite the fact that some cities, such as Los Angeles, have outlawed plastic bags, I don’t think we are going to run out of them anytime soon.  This video by Bethintx1 demonstrates how to make plarn from the plastic cover from paper towels.   Everything we buy in the US is encased in plastic and people are finding ingenious ways to use it.  Plarn is another small step toward a garbage-free world.

Close-up.

4 Comments

  1. Gerri said,

    May 27, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    That is really cool…I’d like to see them up close and personal:)

  2. Teresa said,

    February 17, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    Hi – have you written out a pattern on how to loom knit these adorable rugs? If yes, I would love to feature you as a recycled yarn designer on my website at Recycled Into Yarn: http://www.recycledn2yarn.com/

    Feel free to email me at recycledn2yarn@gmail.com

    If no pattern is available, please feel free to show your design off on the recycled into yarn group page on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/groups/recycledn2yarn/

    Looking forward to hearing from you, Teresa

    • February 17, 2013 at 6:14 pm

      I don’t use patterns for weaving the rugs. I could send you some photos after I get my next batch off of the loom.


Leave a Reply

